dgarcia30

I just made a new Voki. See it here:

Posted on: October 12, 2012

10 Responses to "I just made a new Voki. See it here:"

I’m not sure how to incorporate this into MY LESSONS, but I am definately sharing this with others in my school. I can see the Electronics and Computer Tech classes using this as a way to start each day (their bell ringer can be delivered this way). We have students that arrive at all different times so students work independently on work until they can all come together for some theory time.

I copied a classmate by doing the Voki but it looked interesting and it was. I had fun, I think it could be used as an attention-intro to a subject or on online assignments and tips. (funny to do during a sub) I also did a small book on the UDL Book Builder but had trouble loading it. I have a couple videos I found and thought were interesting to post on the this week sessions. I will attempt figuring out tomorrow.

I sent a reminder to my administration about my request for a smartboard using Voki, I am the only classroom without a smartboard. It was fund-trying to think of other instances I can use it:0)

Great voki. My students and I refer to them as ‘talking heads’. Recently I had my students create presentations for their IEP meetings where they were to introduce themselves, give at lest 4 strengths, 4 areas of need, 3 things they want to learn and address the 3 transition areas. I provided my students with several examples of presentation tools they could utilize and voki was one. It is simple to use and fun.

Unfortunately, iPads dont allow for viewing wordles or vokis – they require flash?

I think the Voki could be a lot of fun for the students to create. Maybe to introduce themselves to the class or tell about what they do at their job sites. It seems very motivating and fun. I am going to try one.

Nice job Diana. Just a suggestion and follow along with Dana’s comment above. When we use digital media, we need to consider the multiple means that are needed. For a Voki, that includes the text transcript for situations where someone cannot hear or, as in Dana’s case, view the video. So, if you look back at my examples of Voki’s, you’ll also see that I typed out a text transcript that accompanied the message. Where’s that book in Bookbuilder that you mentioned??

It is my first time making a Voki, when I made it, I thought it would automatically add the text because I could see it. I will have to play with the tools and specifics of the Voki. I added, the Book also as a different blog post because I wasn’t sure if I edited all together it would come out correct.

Leave a comment

Categories